A Challenge

I’ve been spending (too much) time on Flickr looking at other people’s images recently.  There are a lot of outstanding images, but after awhile it gets a bit overwhelming and everything starts to blur together and I feel like I’m looking at the same images over and over.  It’s actually giving me a headache just thinking about it!  Some amazing photographers have commented about the number of images being posted online and have pondered what it means.  What can one person contribute when there are already billions of photos online?  Perhaps the end result should not be the primary goal, but instead the process of creating should be what matters most.  I find that the times that I push myself to discover new places and improve the quality of my work, are the events that I value the most.

As a result, I have challenged myself to ‘find’ more images in nature and attempt to push my creativity and compositional skills to the next level.  I feel like I know my local area like the back of my hand, but it is astonishing how many photographic subjects go unseen, when you aren’t actively open to seeing new things.  I have a feeling this will be a very educational challenge.  So far, the successful images are few and far between, but that is all part of the process.  Here are a few of the better ones, although they do have their significant flaws.  Consider this a work in progress…

“Time Machine”

“Isolation”

“Knotted Up”

“Expired”

“Intersected”

4 Responses to A Challenge

  1. bearyweather says:

    The small things in nature can be the most interesting to photograph. Thanks for sharing your pictures.

  2. Great finds! And, you presented them very well. thanks for posting.

  3. John Wall says:

    Barry, what I like about your blog entry is seeing a theme presented that, to me, is more meaningful than being exposed to the countless photos on Flickr.

  4. wildphotography says:

    Thanks John! I’ve been thinking a lot about how best to use this blog to present my work vs. posting on Flickr. I think you hit the nail on the head. The blog is a much better way to present a group of images, than being individually posted on Flickr. Being able to write about thoughts and how they relate to the group of images is a bonus too.

Leave a Reply

