Less Fur, More Feather

In case anyone’s wondering, I still find the time to photograph things that aren’t bobcats.  Here are a few recent photos that I like.

“Anna’s Hummingbird”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta CA

“Great Egret with Gopher”

“Great Blue Heron”

“Symmetry”

“Sharp”

6 Responses to Less Fur, More Feather

  1. The heron is my favourite, but they are all beautiful images

  2. wildphotography says:

    Thanks!

  3. Did you use flash for the hummingbird shot?

    I still find it funny to see a GBH in the field like that. It’s very rare where I live to see them away from water.

  4. wildphotography says:

    Hi Scott,
    I didn’t use flash on the hummer. I prefer not to flash wild animals (or any for that matter) unless really necessary. Although I hear that it doesn’t really bother them. Most wild animals are used to flashes of lightning at night and it is theorized that’s what they think camera flashes are.

    Here’s a funny thing about our GBH. It’s commonly found hanging out on the top of a tall tree, and it retreats back to water when it’s raining.

  5. John Wall says:

    Excellent blog! Glad to have found it. I’m envious of your bobcat backgrounds — especially the young cat with the field of mustard plants in the background. Sweet.

  6. Pat Ulrich says:

    These are great, Barry! I always love your bobcat shots, but its fun to see what else you’ve seen lately too. I really like the great egret shot!

Leave a Reply

