Dragonfly – Anax junius

Dragonflies are really amazing creatures, but I might be a bit biased, having worked with them in a research lab at Penn State while in college.  (Believe it or not, dragonflies can help us understand aspects of heart disease.)  Back then I didn’t even think of attempting to photograph one in flight.  They are very quick and rarely stay in one place for long.  Instead, I stuck to doing static macro photography.

My first attempts several years ago were marginal successes. However, most were photographed from above, with dark water as the background.  Unfortunately, I felt this made each image appear the same and they were artistically lacking.  This approach made focusing easier but didn’t get me the results I wanted.  My more recent dragonfly photos have improved because I try to photograph them in front of a background that complements their colors and I also get low and photograph them eye-to-eye.  Being at their same level changes the perspective dramatically, and for the better!

“Green Darner”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

2 Responses to Dragonfly – Anax junius

  1. wildphotography says:

    Thanks Joel!
    This photo reminds me of the PSU days and all the time I spent chasing them through the swamp. Unfortunately I didn’t have a chance to get back to State College on the last PA trip.

    Hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

