Birds from Today

On Friday morning I ran out to the lake to look for the bobcats.  The light was amazing and I wish I had brought my tripod and a wide-angle lens.  To make up for that poor decision making, I tried again today.  I was rewarded with some great shots of a Green Heron and Virginia Rail in addition to some wonderful landscapes.  We weren’t able to find the bobcats in the morning, however we had better luck later in the day!  I’ll post the landscape and bobcat shots separately.

“Green Heron I”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, Ca

“Green Heron II”

“Virginia Rail”

“Scrub Jay”

“Eared Grebe”

“Coot Chase”

4 Responses to Birds from Today

  1. dreamfalcon says:

    great pictures!

  2. Marilyn says:

    Green Heron I is more like a pastel than a photo…almost too perfect to be real. Great portrait!

  3. Linda says:

    I love your photography. What type of camera do you use and how do you get so close to these birds? I live along a migratory flyway and would love to be able to take close ups like this.

    I am really interested in how you get so close. I am a constantly taking bird pictures and documenting my sightings with my husband. Please tell us the secret to getting so close.

    Thank you so much,

    Linda
    LDay@rooftopgarden.com

    P.S. If you know anyone with a rooftop garden, green roof or green wall, or if you have one, please list your project here—> http://www.rooftopgarden.com/database or
    Join my Group at LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/groupRegistration?gid=143300

  4. Simone says:

    Beautiful shots – your blog is nothing short of inspiring… All the best from Ireland 🙂

Leave a Reply

