First Bobcat Sighting in October

It’s been just under a month since I’ve last seen any of the bobcats.  Due to a big event at the Stow House, I wasn’t expecting my luck to change today.  But it just goes to show that you never know what you’ll find if you go looking.  Actually, I saw several interesting things before stumbling upon the two young bobcats.  A group of Meadowlarks were repeatedly flushing from the grass and there were a couple Cooper’s Hawks and a lone Red-tailed Hawk.  While watching the Red-tailed Hawk flying away, I noticed a spot of gray in the middle of a distant dirt path.  Recognizing that this was unexpected, I was thrilled to see one of the bobcats walking in my direction.  A second one appeared as I got closer, but they had disappeared into the brush before I got close enough for decent photos.  Luckily, the normally shy young male reappeared and showed off his stalking skills.

“Young Male Bobcat”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, Ca

Leave a Reply

