Summer Sunsets

With all of the fires in Southern California right now we’ve had some amazing light.  The only thing missing has been clouds at sunset.  We finally started getting some and I was hoping that I would have a great sunrise set to show off, however, I messed up and chose the wrong day to get up early!  When clouds do develop here in the summer, they have the nasty habit of not sticking around very long, making sunrises a bit of a gamble.

On Wednesday night there were few clouds, but there was a thick blanket of smoke covering the eastern horizon.  This looked promising and I thought I might get lucky and catch a nice sunrise the following morning.  However, most of the smoke cleared out overnight.  Some interesting clouds appeared Thursday night but the light show never really developed.  Well, I assumed that the clouds would evaporate overnight.  Turns out I was wrong.  I remember waking up Friday morning and the first thing I noticed was my room filled with purple and pink light.  I staggered to the window and saw the peak of an incredible sunrise.  There was too little time to get outside to capture it, so you will have to make do with much more subdued sunset shots, most from later that evening.

Sunset at Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

Leave a Reply

