Views from Goleta – La Brea Fire

There’s been a lot to photograph lately and I’ve gotten behind in posting here.  We’ve had quite a bit of smoke and ash over the last week, which has made for some interesting light and great photographic opportunities.  Most of the smoke is from the La Brea fire and some portion of the recent smoke is possibly all the way from the Lockheed fire in Santa Cruz.  My favorite shot below is of a Cooper’s Hawk silhouetted in front of the sun.  I have been trying to get this photo for a few years.  I almost accomplished this during the start of the Zaca fire when a hawk landed on a perfect perch with a blood red sun just above.  As I moved into position to line up the hawk in front of the sun, it flew away as some joggers ran by.  The photo below almost didn’t happen either.  Originally, a White-tailed Kite landed in the top of that same tree.  In order to line up the sun behind the bird, I had to get quite a bit closer.  During my approach, it got bored watching me and flew off in search of a meal.  As luck would have it, the Cooper’s Hawk flew in a few minutes later, let me get in the perfect position and get the shot.

“Cooper’s Hawk Silhouette”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Distorted Sun”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Martian Sky”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Smoky Veil”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

6 Responses to Views from Goleta – La Brea Fire

  1. Alice says:

    A good example of persistence and luck, I’d say!

  2. wildphotography says:

    Thanks Alice!

  3. The silhouette shot is so powerful!

  4. wildphotography says:

    Thanks! That is definitely one of my favorite recent photos. And it will probably be one of the best of the year.

  5. Marilyn says:

    Silhouette is like a painting…how could it be a by chance photograph….so so, perfect! Worth the waiting!

  6. WOW! That sillouhette is absolutely stunning! I love Cooper’s Hawks, and see them flying about around here on occasion, but I have never in my life seen such an absolutely PERFECT photogenic moment. Fantastic capture!

Leave a Reply

