Some Birds from the Lake

Things have been pretty quiet around Lake Los Carneros lately.  I haven’t seen the bobcats in weeks, although I have heard they are still skulking around.  The pair of kites are still at the lake and I witnessed an extended territorial battle between the pair and a juvenile that was reluctant to leave.  Even more interesting, I feel extremely lucky that we got to witness one of the juvenile Cooper’s Hawks attempting to prey on a ground squirrel.  (The hawk is amazingly quick on the ground.)  A poor rabbit was also involved in the chase by being in the wrong place at the wrong time.  There is also a large flock of young mallards just learning to fly.  It’s a lot of fun to watch them pump their wings and attempt to get airborne with varying degrees of success.

“Testing my Wings”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“I think I can, I think I can…”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Impending Scuffle”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Predator and Prey”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Green Heron”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

One Response to Some Birds from the Lake

  1. Meg says:

    Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

