Cooper’s Hawks – From Nest to Flight

As I mentioned in a previous post, there has been much activity at the local Cooper’s Hawk nest this season.  Just prior to my  Arizona trip, three small chicks were seen in the nest.  I’m always amazed at how quickly nestlings can grow.  Three weeks after first seeing the young, they were testing their wings and hopping around the treetops and actively investigating their world.

“Feeding Time”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Chasing a Red-tail”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Inquisitive I”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Inquisitive II”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Inquisitive III”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Tug of War”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Dinner Time”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Young Profile”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

“Confidence”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

4 Responses to Cooper’s Hawks – From Nest to Flight

  1. peachie65 says:

    those pics were AWESOME!!!!! like i was right in the nest with them. you really do have an EYE for photography. you must have a large pool of patience to draw from to wait for the right pic to take shape before your eyes too.
    keep up the good work.

    Claire

  2. wildphotography says:

    Thanks so much for the nice comment and for dropping by. I hope to get some good shots of the young in flight soon.

  3. Chandler Olazaba says:

    I was looking at your work. I just wanted to say it is wonderful! I also love to take pictures. I really hope I will star taking them like you soon. I however is still a youg person. GOOD JOB!!!

    Chandler Olazaba

  4. Meg says:

    Wonderful photographs.

Leave a Reply

