Yesterday’s Bobcat

Amazing!  What else do you say when you get the opportunity to watch a bobcat actively hunting from less than ten feet away.  I definitely have to give a tip-of-the-hat to Matt for letting me know both bobcats were out and about, allowing me to get the photos posted below!  I can’t wait to get back out there and hopefully capture a successful hunt.

 

“Bobcat I”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“Bobcat II”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“Bobcat III”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“Bobcat IV”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“Bobcat V”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“Bobcat VI”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

6 Responses to Yesterday’s Bobcat

  1. He’s beautiful! Were you in a blind to get so close to a hunting predator? Color me jealous!

    • wildphotography says:

      I’ve found that both of the bobcats at the lake will let me get ridiculously close before they show signs of irritation (which I try to avoid). For these particular photos, I was standing on a walking path alongside where it was hunting. As long as I stayed on the path, it pretty much ignored us.

  2. Isn’t that nice of them. 🙂 Even though this is a wild animal, you can see where our domestic cats get some of their characteristics.

  3. Chris says:

    Nice – I know you’ve been trying to photograph these bobcats for some time now. These are great shots.

  4. Bo says:

    Daylight bobcat, I’m jealous! Do you have your other bobcat shots online? Awesome photos.

  5. Fe Hill says:

    Wow that is exciting do you think the are still there? I have a small Jack Russel (very strong for his size) that I walk off leash… do you think he would be safe to walk at the lake?

Leave a Reply

