Some from Sunday

Sunday’s weather forecast suggested it would be a good day to stay inside.  Intermittent rain was forecast with strong winds to follow.  Well, the rain arrived very early in the day, and then nearly clear skies developed shortly thereafter.  However, the forecasters were spot on about the wind.  Still, it seemed like a good idea to get out of the house, even if most of the bird life was tied to the trees.  I started the morning by heading to More Mesa where I found a Savannah Sparrow hiding in the brush and then a White-tailed Kite soaring acrobatically above the bluffs.  Shortly afterwards I saw what was probably a dove racing through the sky away from an unidentified raptor.  I didn’t get any photos worth posting but they confirmed that the raptor was a Peregrine Falcon!  I think the erratic winds probably saved the dove’s life.  

In the early evening I went over to Lake Los Carneros and tracked down a Flicker hammering away on a dead tree branch.  A short walk down the path brought me to a beautiful Kingbird illuminated by a narrow shaft of sunlight.  Luckily the wind had died down somewhat and a large flock of Swallows briefly surrounded me.  They really seem to enjoy flying more than any other bird I know.

 

“More Mesa in Spring”  –  More Mesa, Goleta, CA

 

“Carving – White-tailed Kite”  –  More Mesa, Goleta, CA

 

“Flicker in Motion”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“Kingbird”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“Follow the Leader”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“Crossing Paths”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

2 Responses to Some from Sunday

  1. TauFan! says:

    nice shot..
    love the bird when it fly..
    😀

  2. Melisa says:

    These photographs are amazing. I love gazing at birds, they fascinate me.

    I love the Kingbird photo, amazing composition. And the little one is so cute! =)

Leave a Reply

