Best of September 2008

Most of September was spent searching for local wildlife.  I had a fun encounter with a small group of Sea Otters at Morro Bay.  Too bad the lighting wasn’t better.  I also started spending more time at the beach.  After ignoring it for most of my time here (I prefer the mountains), I started paying more attention to the diversity of shorebirds found in this area.  I don’t know why, but I think the Turnstones are one of my favorite shorebirds.  There is a subtle metallic quality to their feathers that is hard to capture, but captivating to watch.

 

“Sea Otter”  –  Morro Bay, San Luis Obispo County, CA

 

“Ivy on Tree”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“Juvenile Black-crowned Night Heron”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“California Quail”  –  HW 1, near Lompoc, CA

 

“Wilson’s Warbler”  –  Lake Los Carneros, Goleta, CA

 

“Black Turnstone”  –  Campus Point, UCSB, Santa Barbara, CA

One Response to Best of September 2008

  1. Hi, Barry, you have some amazing photographs here of both landscapes and wildlife. Wish I could find some accomodating bobcats like you found last year. Looking forward to your other “Best of” posts!

Leave a Reply

