Firsts

All the photos in this post are a first for me in some way or form.  I have had some recent success tracking Great Horned Owls, during the day.  Which I think is pretty cool.  I also recently saw two new raptors on a trip through Lockwood Valley:  the Prairie Falcon and the Ferruginous Hawk.  Lastly, I have never seen a Great Blue Heron with such intensely blue lores.  (The patch of skin in front of the eyes.)

 

“Great Horned Owl  I”  –  Goleta, CA

 

“Great Horned Owl  II”  –  Goleta, CA

 

“Prairie Falcon”  –  Lockwood Valley, Ventura, CA

 

“Ferruginous Hawk”  –  Lockwood Valley, Ventura, CA

 

“Great Blue Heron”  –  UCSB Lagoon, Santa Barbara, CA

Leave a Reply

